GOD Won’t Waste Your Time

Often I find myself in the “normal flow” of life, wishing I were doing something else, something more worthwhile, something meaningful and constructive.  Where is the Lord in the McDonald’s, where is He at Home Depot, in traffic, at the office, or in a hundred other places, mentally and physically?  One thing I have tried to do and that is to make my day part of His day…but alas, it is hard work.  It is hard work getting into God’s rest sometimes.  But at least I am trying and getting better.  Anyway, I want to share a case in point with you.

I had been asked to drive an associate of mine up to the mountains.  He promised a deal for me if I could meet with the clients:  some work.  The morning came and I was nervous about driving my van, worried about the cost involved, hoping for a blessing, and expecting some type of financial reward for the time-consuming affair.  It was not to be.  The clients are his clients and my prospect became void.  We did move some furniture though; the couple was older and needed some help.  We were more than happy to do so.  Then the clients decided to give away their older TV and my associate jumped on that like a june-bug on a biscuit.  So now I give them their privacy to work out an open contract by removing myself and sitting in the van to check my e-mails and such.  By the way, that monster of a TV weighed more than I expected and was challenging to say the least (we ended up having to seat-belt it in after a mishap).

I was parked on the side of a mountain on a wooden driveway that welcomed you to the chalet.  I was hesitant to park on the “swinging bridge”.  And my associate said, “What are you nervous about?…look…thier van is parked on it”.  That makes me feel better.  Thanks, I think I’ll add another 3000 pounds to the equation and see if it’ll hold.  Honestly, the chalet sat on telephone poles, and so did the driveway, AND it is wooden, AND it all sits on a ridiculous slope straight down.  A total of 6 telephone poles holding up the chalet (I estimated 70 to 80′ above grade) and 3 additional telephone poles holding the driveway up.  I parked on the driveway to save face.

So there I sat and looked up and realized it had turned into a beautiful day.  The view from the “driveway” was awesome, so I took some photos.  I didn’t think much of it at the time and couldn’t tell if the photos were any good.  After quite a while of waiting, we finally moved the TV and the furniture and shook hands.  Off we went.  Then the weather turned nasty and traffic was backed up and we sat in said traffic in silence AND we flipped the TV by accident.  It was a long trip back home.

My wife asked me later that evening if my trip to the mountains was productive.  I answered cautiously that “there were no immediate gains but perhaps something in the future”.

“You got used as a ride, didn’t you?”

“No”

“Yes you did.”

“C’mon, seriously honey, I believe that in the long ru…..Yeah.  I did”

We laughed.

Anyway, I believe in all seriousness that God will be with us all day if we let Him!  I guess I’m just romantic like that.  Too many times I have seen clearly the past effecting the present in a very circuitous route.  Who is to say?  God is to say.  I choose Him because He chose me first.  Period.  To heck with the rest of it; I want to live in the freedom that my King died for!  Be glad…be happy…be meaningful…be yourself: your true self in Christ.  We can’t live in bondage.  So even when I thought I was in bondage, I wasn’t.  We just have to have our eyes open…even in suffering!

I looked at the pictures and was happy to report back…they were nice.  Isn’t God’s glory mind-boggling?

The moon that morning

View from "driveway"

2 thoughts on “GOD Won’t Waste Your Time

  1. Good post, I read this prayer every morning before I begin my devotionals, and I would like to add to the dialogue:

    The Morning Prayer of the Last Elders of Optina
    O Lord, grant that I may meet all that this coming day brings to me with spiritual tranquility. Grant that I may fully surrender myself to Thy holy Will.

    At every hour of this day, direct and support me in all things. Whatsoever news may reach me in the course of the day; teach me to accept it with a calm soul and the firm conviction that all is subject to Thy holy Will.

    Direct my thoughts and feelings in all my words and actions. In all unexpected occurrences, do not let me forget that all is sent down from Thee.

    Grant that I may deal straightforwardly and wisely with every member of my family, neither embarrassing nor saddening anyone.

    O Lord, grant me the strength to endure the fatigue of the coming day and all the events that take place during it. Direct my will and teach me to pray, to believe, to hope, to be patient, to forgive, and to love. Amen.

Leave a Reply

