If Just For A Moment

 

If just for a moment

I can glimpse the man who could be…

If just for a moment

I could grasp the weight of eternity…

In that moment I would seize all that is fleeting

And find an anchor where all hearts are beating

If just for a moment

When I stand gazing up at the stars

Could I find a place in the Creator’s arms?

I would give all that can be given

To be His choice and to be forgiven

If just for a moment

As I stand at the edge of the world

With waves breaking all that can be broken

And singing the lullaby of life now repeating

Does my Lord hear my heartbeat amongst all the beating

and pain

and fires to be stoked

and I wish He would send me a whisper of His love

If just for a moment

I remember the ones I have lost

My heart strains at the memory of love’s forsaken

Why do they go and where have they gone

To a heart that is weeping and spent

I want to believe my sweet memories

Live and have life

If just for a moment

But I know a moment is priceless

It lives on in the hearts that receive it

I want to kiss the wind that brings it

And wrap my arms around the phantom of memory

If just for a moment

As I reach out to God

He reaches back to me

All that is and will be is captured by His gaze

And I can rest in His love

If just for a moment…

Leave a Reply

